Use of QR Codes for the Networking Music Therapist!

I’m heading into the final day of the American Music Therapy Association National Conference in Cleveland, OH.. and what a time i’ve had! Aside from the sessions, the most rewarding thing i’ve done is… NETWORKING! I’ve been a machine! Between random handshakes, tweet-ups, shmoozing and smiling… i’ve also tried to utilize different social media devices besides the ever-so-popular business card (although I still had some for back-up!) I proudly displayed several strange looking boxes on my name tag, which I lovingly refer to as “QR Codes.”

What is a QR Code?

A matrix barcode (2-D code), readable by QR scanners, mobile phones with a camera, and smartphones. The code consists of black modules arranged in a square pattern on white background. The information encoded can be text, URL or other data. 

Common in Japan, where it was created in 1994, the QR code is one of the most popular types of two-dimensional barcodes. QR is the abbreviation for Quick Response, as the creator intended the code to allow its contents to be decoded at high speed.  It’s know as a “mobile tagging.”

Why?

It is such a great additional tool to add to your “self.”  Not only are they used at museums, on websites and in magazines to quickly link people to information, they can quickly link people to YOU!  On my conference name tag I proudly displayed a QR code for my blog, Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin. Not only is it simple for people with smartphones to quickly scan my QR code to learn more about me, but it saves in their recent scans.  This means that after they walk away, your going with them in their pocket.  Not only that, they won’t lose their phone like they would a piece of paper or a business card.

Plus- as a plug- it’s more eco-friendly!

So next time your at a networking even, keep an eye open for QR codes, and connect withpeople more quickly- and don’t forget to display your own!

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Music Therapy, Student Life

3 responses to “Use of QR Codes for the Networking Music Therapist!

  1. I love this! How do I get a QR code for myself?

    (and nice button!)

Leave a Reply

