The Application Process…

For the last week i’ve been chained to my computer and table (not really :))… and no I haven’t been blogging (unfortunately!) I’ve started to fill out my applications for the extensive list of internships i’ve created… and I couldn’t be more excited! It’s a very time consuming, but also a very rewarding experience as I tackle each question and application form.  Here are some tips to keep your sanity….

  1. Don’t try to cram it in in a few nights.  Some applications require answers to questions that exceed a few pages.  Take your time, take one step at a time, and restrict yourself to answering just a few a night.
  2. Be honest: Be yourself.  Answer questions truthfully and honestly and make sure your personality shows.
  3. Stand out from the crowd.  There are countless ways to do this.  Find your unique way so you shine.
  4. BE ORGANIZED.  I have 10 folders- one for each internship. Label the folders with the name of the facility and a checklist of required items. It will make your life so much easier!
  5. If possible- try to make some sort of connection with the supervisor- this way your name is in their head.

Feel free to comment with questions or more suggestions! Thanks for checking back.  I’m excited to say I will be shadowing Annette Whitehead-Pleaux in Boston, MA for a few hours at the Shriners Burns Hospital in 2 weeks.  Check back for a post with my experience!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Therapy, Student Life

Leave a Reply

